thanksgiving break (blogmas day 4) ~ Valerie

Late again, but at least I’m posting:

I CAN’T WAIT TO GO HOME I CAN’T WAIT TO GO HOME I CAN’T WAIT TO GO HOME

I love it here, but I’ve been away from Hong Kong for 108 days and that is TOO MUCH. All my friends went home for Thanksgiving break which made me homesick for the first time since I’ve been here. Watching snap stories of them with their families and friends made me so envious—sometimes it really is difficult being an international student surrounded by non-international friends.

Thanksgiving break was not great because I did nothing productive and I missed home and all my friends who went back home, but it had some redeemable qualities. I did get a lot closer to all the TD freshmen still on campus. I also watched Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them with OIS (the international students group), made gingerbread houses, and went shopping on Black Friday for a Christmas tree and subsequently went out at 2am to get extension cords in order to set up the tree. Our Head of College (essentially the mom of the college) also hosted a Thanksgiving dinner: she’s from Hong Kong, so she made dumplings and had her relatives from Hong Kong over, all of whom spoke Cantonese. It’s insane how little it takes to trigger that wave of nostalgia.

God, I love TD. But I feel like a hypocrite saying that now, because I may be transferring colleges :(( Don’t know yet, more to come.

 

Leave a Reply

